Riccardo Hernandez

Assistant Professor Adjunct of Design

Riccardo Hernandez has designed over 250 productions at most leading regional theaters across the US and internationally. He designed over twenty productions at New York Shakespeare Festival/Public Theater, including The America Play, One Flea Spare, Stuff Happens, Blade to the Heat (Audelco Award), Mother Courage starring Meryl Streep directed by George C. Wolfe; collaborated with: Diane Paulus, Mary Zimmerman, Daniel Sullivan, Michael Greif, Mark Brokaw, Mark Lamos, Ron Daniels, Chay Yew, Graciela Daniele, and others; designed at BAM, Lincoln Center Theater, Theatre For A New Audience, Apollo Theater, Atlantic Theater Company, (collaborations with film director Ethan Coen), Second Stage Theatre (Notes From the Field and Let Me Down Easy written and performed by Anna Deavere Smith; also broadcast on PBS Great Performances), New York Theater Workshop, Manhattan Theater Club, MCC Theater, Playwrights Horizons, Guthrie Theater, The Goodman Theatre, Mark Taper Forum, La Jolla Playhouse, Steppenwolf Theatre Company, The McCarter Theatre, Yale Repertory Theatre; collaborations at American Repertory Theater with Diane Paulus, Ron Daniels, Robert Woodruff, Janos Szasz, Arthur Nauzyciel, Robert Brustein, Karin Coonrod, and Leonard Foglia.

Broadway design work includes: Indecent, The Gin Game (Sets and Costumes), The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess (2012 Tony Award Best Musical Revival), The People in the Picture (Studio 54), Tony Kushner’s Caroline, or Change (also Royal National Theater London - 2007 Olivier Award for Best New Musical/2006 London’s Evening Standard Award for Best Musical), TopDog/UnderDog (2002 Pulitzer Award Best Play-also Royal Court, London), Elaine Stritch at Liberty (also West End’s Old Vic), Parade (Hal Prince director, Tony and Drama Desk Nominations), Bells Are Ringing, Bring in ‘Da Noise, Bring in ‘Da Funk, The Tempest.

Opera design work includes: world premieres of Charles Wuorinen’s Haroun at New York City Opera (Mark Lamos, director), Amistad at Lyric Opera of Chicago (George C. Wolfe, director), Il Postino (set and costume design) with Placido Domingofor Los Angeles Opera - also at Theatre du Chatelet Paris, Theater an der Wien Vienna, and PBS telecast (Ron Daniels, director), Philip Glass’ Appomatox for San Francisco Opera (Robert Woodruff, director), A Coffin in Egypt (sets and costumes) composed by Ricky Ian Gordon for Houston Grand Opera. Recent: La Traviata (Canadian Opera Company), Il Tabarro/I Pagliacci and Sweeney Todd at Opera Theater of Saint Louis), The Lost Highway (set and costumes design) at English National Opera/Young Vic (Diane Paulus, director), Don Giovanni and Lucia di Lammermoor for Santa Fe Opera.

Most recent design work includes: Assassins, Yardbird for English National Opera/Hackney Empire, London,  Red Speedo (Drama Desk Nomination), The Invisible Hand  (2015 Henry Hewes Design Award), Genet’s Splendid’s for Theatre National de la Colline Paris, REFUGIA directed by Dominique Serrand for Guthrie Theater, Grounded for Westport Playhouse (Liz Diamond, director), and for Public Theater (Julie Taymor, director); The Library directed by film director Steven Soderbergh, for Public Theater, The Skin of Our Teeth, King Lear, A Doll’s House and The Father, all directed by Arin Arbus for TFANA; for Avignon Festival (France): La Mouette (Cour D’Honneur, Palais des Papes), Jan Karski, Mon Nom Est Fiction (Opera Theatre and Teatr Polski, Warsaw, Poland); Abigail’s Party (Oslo National Theater, Norway), The Dead New Adaptation by Frank McGuiness(Abbey Theater, Dublin)

Upcoming: Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train (Signature Theater), The White Card by Claudia Rankine for American Repertory Theater and ArtsEmerson (Diane Paulus, director), Admissions by Joshua Harmon for Lincoln Center Theater, Orfeo ed  Euridice for OTSL, The Winter’s Tale (TFANA), La Dame aux Camelias (Paris, France),

Riccardo has received numerous awards and nominations including: 2017 Obie Award for Sustained Excellence in Scenic Design, 2015 Henry Hewes Design Award, Princess Grace Statue Award, Tony, Drama Desks, Connecticut Critics Circle, Helen Hayes, Jeff Award, Dora Award/Opera Division, Audelco, American Theater Wing, and Boston Elliot Norton Award.